Sisense releases several major versions a year, and a few minor versions in between. Each version includes new features and enhancements as well as other improvements.

Sisense allows you to decide when you want to upgrade to the latest version. There are no automatic updates for the Sisense Server. Before upgrading, you can learn about the contents of each release in the Sisense Release Notes.

Before Your Upgrade

Sisense recommends you follow these guidelines before you begin the upgrade process:

  • Back up your Sisense application database.
  • Install the new version of Sisense on a testing/staging environment and check all of your ElastiCubes and active dashboards. When you are sure that everything is working well, continue with the installation of the new version in your production environment.
  • Save all open ElastiCubes and close the ElastiCube Manager.
  • Verify that no one is currently designing a dashboard.
  • Declare a downtime period and notify users.
  • Install the new version with the same user who installed the original Sisense version (with the same administrator privileges).
  • If you have a multi-server environment, make sure all of your Sisense servers are running the same version to avoid compatibility issues.

Installing the Latest Version

To install the latest version:

  1. Download the latest version of Sisense. For more information, see Downloading and Installing Sisense.
  2. Run the installation file. Sisense automatically detects if a version is already installed, and displays the upgrade wizard.
  3. Click Continue.
  4. Click Upgrade.

    Sisense is upgraded according to the installation settings you selected the last time you installed Sisense. To customize a new installation, you should uninstall Sisense and then install the latest version.

Downgrading Sisense

When you upgrade Sisense, a backup copy of your MongoDB instance is automatically created. The MongoDB contains your server settings including your user and dashboard information. This allows you to reinstall earlier versions of Sisense without having to set up your system a second time.

During the uninstall process, you can choose to remove all user data, which deletes the MongoDB instance. The next time you install Sisense, your system will be completely clean, and your dashboard, dashboard list, and user data will be fresh.

Sisense is improving all the time and some versions of Sisense are incompatible with earlier versions. If you upgrade to a version and need to downgrade to an incompatible version, you can restore a backup copy of the MongoDB created automatically when you installed the last version of Sisense. For help downgrading to an earlier version of Sisense that is incompatible with the last version you installed, you can contact Sisense Support who can assist you in restoring a backup copy of your MongoDB instance.

To downgrade to an earlier version of Sisense:

  1. In Windows, goto Add or Remove Programs.
  2. Locate Sisense and click Uninstall.

    The Uninstall Wizard is displayed.
  3. In the Uninstall Wizard, click Remove Anyway. If you select the Remove User Data checkbox, Sisense deletes all information stored in the MongoDB and this information must be configured the next time you install Sisense.

    Sisense is uninstalled.
  4. Install the previous version of Sisense. The downgrade process is complete.